What about the new change!?

How’s it going folks!?

As you saw and may tried, the first Beta preview of Choqok 1.0, was released 19 days ago.

And using it instead of old 0.6.6 version is highly recommended. It has most of the things 0.6.6 had + more features with better performance

One of changes in this release, is showing avatar of own posts at the right side of post, i.e. like this:

The reason is to distinguish them faster and jump from them when reading too many new dents/tweets/posts.

After release some users complain about this change.

Someone told that it’s better to use another background color for own posts, but this will make Choqok to have 3 different bg color for posts, and could be annoying to have a colorful client. when every piece of app is in one color.

So like before, I’m here to know your idea about it! What do you think!? and what would be a better way to do this!?

Hmm, We can revert it and make it like before, if that was cooler. :-/

*****

One new change that I’m going to work on it, is using JSON instead of XML for data transmissions! I think this can make Choqok faster (depend on QJson library :D) and uses less bandwidth(at least 1/4 less).
Less bandwidth usage may not be a good feature in modern world but it would be great for users like me :D

=-=-=-=-=
Powered by Blogilo

12 responses to this post.

  1. I think it’s a very good idea and easy to grasp.

    Reply

  2. Posted by warnec on March 27, 2010 at 1:02 am

    Well, I also prefer the right-aligned photo for own tweets, if You ask me ;)

    But hey, Linux is about freedom of choice, so why not make this configurable like this :

    Method to distinguish Your own tweets:

    (o) Right-aligned photo

    (o) Separate color [color picker]

    where “(o)” is a radio button and “[color picker]” is a standard Qt color picker (colored rectangular box, You surely know what I mean)

    Reply

  3. Posted by J Janz on March 27, 2010 at 1:09 am

    I agree with the right alignment as a good default (I’m against options for everything — major features might get some, when needed) but, still, *if* you make it optional, I guess checkboxes are better than radio for the above suggestion: if you’ll let people to choose, let them be able to choose both (different color and alignment, why not?) …

    Reply

  4. Posted by wt on March 27, 2010 at 1:35 am

    I do like the different alignment for own-posts, but maybe it becomes harder to distinguish the end of the previous post with the start of one’s own because there isn’t an avatar at the start of where one reads? Maybe if you also include a THICK border outline or some other distinguishing feature to make it clear that a new post is starting at that point.

    Reply

  5. Personally I think it looks super-sexy.

    I’d also like to chime-in that more-configuration-options-as-a-way-of-avoiding-design-decisions-at-the-expense-of-usability-in-its-default-state is a Bad Thing ™ Beware.

    Defaults matter more than options!

    Reply

  6. Posted by Fri13 on March 27, 2010 at 4:10 am

    I would take the photo on right.

    I always want to see far away when new messages are delivered. The different background is other thing for that but it should then always fit to the used color schema and so far it has be always so painfull.

    Reply

  7. Posted by Clay Weber on March 27, 2010 at 4:52 am

    I like the avatar on the right. I noticed it right away, thinking how cool and simple it is

    Reply

  8. I don’t like the right aligned photo. It breaks the design somehow. What about another font-color to distinguish between own and foreign posts? (IRC-Style). Maybe red (and bold).

    You cold also consider to use yaml for transmissions, if that is supported by the host pages.

    Anyway good work. I like the new Choqok version.

    PS:
    Maybe you could create a “all read” button next to the actions drop-down button. That would be really handy.

    Reply

  9. Posted by johnyb on March 27, 2010 at 4:19 pm

    hey,
    IMHO it’s a good choice to destinguish between “incoming” and “outgoing” posts. Colours aren’t as powerful as different alignment in this case. However, this only works really great on small devices, I guess. I’m using it on a netbook, there I don’t have any problems with “missing any information”. On larger screens (imagine a wide-screen) this could be more problematic.
    I am against the option to configure this feature. Less is more, in this case.

    Reply

  10. Posted by Will Stephenson on March 27, 2010 at 6:38 pm

    How about leaving the contact picture out of your own posts altogether?

    Reply

  11. Awesome!!! I think it’s a wonderful idea!! Really like it. This is similar to what Tweetie does and the first time I saw it in Tweetie, I thought “wow, what a clever idea. I love it!” =:) I really do think it’s awesome.

    Maybe something to think about for the future would be to allow user themes (CSS or whatever) for the message list so that users can determine where the avatar for your own posts go (right or left) and even what color to make the background/text/etc. This would simplify the background/foreground color selection that Choqok currently has as well as solve this current discussion (where the avatar picture goes), as well as future-proof Choqok against complicating the configuration UI when the next cool idea comes around.

    But I think what you’ve done here is really good and I really like it. =:)

    Reply

  12. I like both ideas (color or different alignment) . I like the client in general (just installed it) but I do miss another feature: I want to be able to search for other users and follow them.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

