Resistance is futile

As everyone know it’s a long time that Choqok and Blogilo had no real update from me, 5 years ago when I started them I had time, energy and passion to spend on them. in the past year, all of those had gone little by little. but I was trying to resist it and keep them up even a little,

But now, I have to admit that I cannot continue, because of some personal reasons:
mostly because I’m working as a software engineer somewhere, and that fulfill my programming and coding joys, so I replaced my coding hobby with another hobby (photography) recently and It’s keeping me too much busy that there’s no more time to spend somewhere else :)

So, If anyone interested to work on either Choqok or Blogilo I would be really appreciated to help him/her and give away their maintenance.

I know I wasn’t a good maintainer/developer because I didn’t find and prepare someone to fill my place after me, I’m sorry.

___

PS: BTW, If anyone was interested to check on my photography, here are some links: 500px, facebook, flickr,

39 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by kulasekar on June 9, 2013 at 12:06 pm

    Good you are sorry. Imagine if someone actually used your software !

    Reply

  2. Please disregard the rude comment from that person.

    Reply

  3. and just as a side note…
    choqok is called “the best twitter client for linux” here: http://www.lifehacker.com.au/2012/01/the-best-twitter-client-for-linux/

    Reply

  4. Posted by Montel Laurent on June 9, 2013 at 12:30 pm

    Hi,
    I updated Blogilo for 4.11. I improved it.
    So no problem, I used it and fixed some bugs.
    Ok I don’t have more time for it but it’s not dead :)
    (I work on kmail and other pim component)

    Choqok I didn’t know what is it.

    Regards.

    Reply

  5. I’ve been using Choqok on a daily basis and it’s awesome, and I’ve heard great things about Blogilo as well although I am not a blogger myself. You’ve done a great job with both projects, so contratulations!

    Reply

  6. […] software libero e di KDE come me. Mehrdad Momeny, programmatore noto per Choqok eBlogilo ha annunciato, tramite il suo blog personale, di non poter più dedicare tempo allo sviluppo e alla manutenzione […]

    Reply

  7. Posted by Richard on June 9, 2013 at 2:26 pm

    Choqok is a nice application, I hope that it will get a new maintainer!

    Reply

  8. Posted by Stan Tontas on June 9, 2013 at 2:30 pm

    I like Blogilo a lot, thanks for creating it.
    And although it’s a shame you’ve no time for to keep developing it, thank you for stepping up and saying so instead of just disappearing. If I had programming skills, I’d try, but…
    (nice photos btw)

    Reply

  9. Posted by nowardev on June 9, 2013 at 3:58 pm

    well you did a good job for me thank you anyway.

    Reply

  10. Don’t be sorry! You have no obligation to keep developing your programs, or to take care of finding new maintainers. If anything, we, the users owe you, for a great program.

    I see that Blogilo already has other contributors, and I’m sure someone will step up to maintain Choqok. Not that Choqok, as complete as it is now, needs much maintaining anyway, I think :)

    Now that I’m getting to know the pump.io API, maybe in the future I’ll be able to contribute a pump.io plugin to Choqok, although I’m not sure the microblogging paradigm (which Choqok is designed for) fits with Pump.

    Anyway, thanks a lot for all the time you spent developing these great programs. I’ve enjoyed Choqok for years, and I owe you one!

    Reply

  11. Posted by RoDrIgO on June 9, 2013 at 5:19 pm

    Thanks a lot. Choqok rocks.

    Reply

  12. No need to apologise and thank you for creating two great projects for kde.

    Reply

  13. Blogilo is awesome! Maybe i could try to implement some new features as my exams are over now.

    Reply

  14. Hmm, what does it take to be a maintainer?

    Also, a thought: with identi.ca moving away from status.net to pump.io, will choqok be needing any kind of big code change to adapt to that?

    Reply

    • Posted by David Edmundson on June 9, 2013 at 9:51 pm

      Typically the maintainership is earned by being active, writing code, managing bugs/teams/promo, etc.

      It’s not about being the best coder, or the best at anything, but about doing work.
      (which is naturally time/life consuming)

      It’s not a role that’s specifically given, it’s earned.

      Reply

  15. Posted by Anand on June 9, 2013 at 8:27 pm

    Thats unfortunate. I am regular Choqok user and second applciation I start after login (Chromium being first). Infact, I am lead to this site from Choqok; kdecommunity tweet.
    Anyways, thanks for all the good work and best wishes for your other pursuits. We will hope for a comeback. :-)

    Reply

  16. Thanks for your work. I’m a KDE user and fan, and I use Choqok everyday!!!
    Sorry to hear this! Hope you have fun with your news hobbies! and thanks again for your work!!!

    Reply

  17. Posted by luismalamoc on June 10, 2013 at 1:01 am

    Kde I use almost every day, and I connect to twitter through chokoq; What skills are needed to help maintain so famous application?…My English is rustic, I am from Latin America.

    Reply

  18. These are two awesome projects you created.
    I would like to see if I find time to work on choqok in my free time.

    Reply

  19. […] Choqok, los clientes de blogging y microblogging respectivamente del escritorio KDE, ha reconocido la dura realidad: no va a seguir manteniendo las aplicaciones, que de hecho estaban abandonadas desde hace un buen […]

    Reply

  20. Posted by Jeffery MacEachern on June 10, 2013 at 4:09 pm

    Thanks for being candid about this. While Choqok could use some polish and a few features, it works very well day-to-day, and I’m thankful for the work you’ve done. I hope a new maintainer steps in to keep it just as good in the future. :)

    Reply

  21. Many thanks for all the work you’ve done on the Choqok project from a very happy user! You will always be remembered for this kind and generous contribution.

    Reply

  22. […] questo Mehrdad Momeny ha annunciato sul suo blog che cesserà ufficialmente di sviluppare i due programmi cosi da non lasciare false […]

    Reply

  23. […] account, supporto per tab e categorie, gestione d'immagini e video e molto altro ancora. Con un recente post sul proprio blog Mehrdad Momeny sviluppatore di Choqok e Blogilo ha deciso di abbandonare lo […]

    Reply

  24. Posted by marco on June 12, 2013 at 2:23 pm

    my choqok stopped working, I no longer receive updates…

    Reply

    • Hi Marco,

      the reason for this is that twitter has shutdown version 1.0 of it’s API.
      I will start working on updating the twitter plugin to the newest a pi this evening.

      Reply

      • Posted by Marco Bakker on June 12, 2013 at 6:07 pm

        Oh yes was trying to find out why it stopped and then found this. Would be great if you can make that change so we all can continue using the best linux twitter client there is.

      • Posted by marco on June 12, 2013 at 9:17 pm

        thanks a lot, choqok is great!

  25. […] desarrollador (quién además era quién se encargaba de Blogilo), ha hecho uso de sus derechos y simplemente dejó el proyecto a un lado, pues ahora se va a dedicar el tiempo de Choqok a la […]

    Reply

  26. […] El desarrollador principal de blogilo y choqok abandona. ¿Morirán los proyectos? […]

    Reply

  27. […] El desarrollador principal de blogilo y choqok abandona. ¿Morirán los proyectos? […]

    Reply

  28. […] supporto per tab e categorie, gestione d’immagini e video e molto altro ancora. Con un recente post sul proprio blog Mehrdad Momeny sviluppatore di Choqok e Blogilo ha deciso di abbandonare […]

    Reply

Leave a comment